12 Poses of Surya Namaskar with Mantra

How to Practice 12 Poses of Surya Namaskar (Sun Salutation)

Surya Namaskar consists of a series of 12 Asanas. Before initiating the practice calm your breath and shake your body a little bit.

Before commencing any yoga asana, the practice of Surya Namaskar is recommended which helps to activate the Surya Nadi and other parts of the body such as shoulder, calves muscles, glutes, all the joints, etc.

For every asana, there is a specific mantra and breathing which one should have to follow.

  1. Pranaam Asana (The Prayer Pose)

    Come in front of the mat, join the feet together, eyes closed, and join both palms together in front of the chest. This is the first pose in the series of Surya namaskar in which we salute to the god “Sun”. Chant the mantra “OM MITRAAY NAMAH”.  The focus should be on breathing.

  1. Hastha Uttaan Asana (The Arm Raising Pose)

    Inhale and extend your both arms up create a stretch upward and expand your chest. Chant the mantra “OM RAVAAYE NAMAH”.

  1. Paad Hastha Asana (Bend Forward Pose)

    Exhale and bend forward from waist while stretching the body outside toward your foot. Rest your hand side by side of your feet. Chant the mantra “OM SURYAAYE NAMAH”

  1. Ashwa Sanchalan Asana (Horse Riding Pose)

    Inhale and take your left leg backdrop the left knee down on the mat. Expand chest and palm should remain the same as it was before in Paad Hastha Asana. Lift your head up and stretch. Chant the mantra “OM BHANAVEY NAMAH”.

  1. Parvat Asana (Mountain Pose)

    Exhale and take the right leg back together with the left leg and stretch your tailbone and hips upward, head toward the floor, the position of palm remains the same. Chant the mantra “ OM KHAGAAYE NAMAH”.

  2. Ashtanga Namaskar (Eight Limbs Salute)

    Now retain breath or inhale and exhale drop the knee, chest, and chin down to the floor.  Raise your hips slightly up. Chant the mantra “OM POOSHNEY NAMAH”.

  1. Bhujang Asana (Cobra Pose)

    Inhale and drop your hips down to floor, toe, and thigh flat to the floor and lift the head up, stretch body upward like a cobra, and gaze should be up between eyebrows. Expansion of chest is important in this practice and focus on the breath. Chant the mantra “OM HIRANYA GARBHAYA NAMAH”.

  1. Parvat Asana (Mountain Pose)

    It is the repetition of the 5th posture. Exhale and Join the feet together, lift the hips up, shape it like a mountain. Chant the mantra “OM MARICHAYE NAMAH”.

  1. Ashwa Sanchalan (Horse Riding Pose)

    It is the repetition of the 4th posture of this series. Inhale and take your left leg forward and drop your right knee down. Gaze forward and palms on the floor. Chant the mantra “OM ADITYAAYE NAMAH”

  2. Paad Hastha Asana (Forward Bending Pose)

    Repeat the 3rd posture again.  Exhale and Join both feet together and palm should be side by side of your feet. Chant the mantra “OM SAVITRAYE NAMAH”.

  3. Hastha Uttan Asana ( The Arms Raising Pose)

    Inhale and raise your both arms up again as same in the 2nd posture of this series. Stretch the body upside. Chant the mantra “OM ARKAAYE NAMAH”.

  4. Pranam Asana ( The Prayer Pose)

    Exhale and join both palms in front of your chest and chant the mantra “OM BHASKARAAYE NAMAH”. This is the one-half set of Surya Namaskar to complete the full set repeat the posture again the same but this time use the right leg instead of left.

After completing the cycle of Surya Namaskar do some twisting asanas like Kati chakra asana (twisting of the waist) and after that relax in Shavasana (Dead Pose) for a while.